Enter the Twilight

I’ve decided to participate in National Poetry Writing Month.

The Goal: A poem a day for the entirety of April

The site is: http://www.napowrimo.net/

Today’s prompt: write a poem starting with the first line of a famous poem.

I chose “The Song of Wandering Aengus” by W.B. Yeats, because it is currently one of my favourites.

Enter the Twilight

I went out to the hazel wood,
a faerie there to find.
I weaved among the hazel trees,
the tallest one, did climb.

I looked out on the forest there
and saw many a thing:
the trees and leaves and clouds above,
a clearing, and a spring.

So to that spring I made my way -
deeper into that wood.
And at the break of twilight hour,
appeared a solemn druid.

“Come walk with me,” was what she said,
and beckoned with her hand.
She led me to the little spring –
I walked onto the sand.

I never came away that day.
The faeries hold me close.
Eternal twilight is my home:
This destiny I chose.

2 responses to “Enter the Twilight

Leave a Reply

