National Novel Writing Month

This month, as many of you know, is National Novel Writing Month! I’ve decided that despite how busy I am with school, it’s in my best interest to participate.
The writing began yesterday.
And OH! How glorious it felt to write with reckless abandon, letting my words flow freely onto the page!
Blip
I found out what my biggest problem as a writer is, my most challenging roadblock: I’m too much of a perfectionist. Honestly, those first thousand words felt like an anvil to my creative perfectionism. They were flawed! They were messy! They didn’t make sense!
It took all my willpower to refrain from impulsively deleting them and starting over.
Why didn’t I? Believe me, I still want to so badly! But I can’t, and I won’t, because overcoming this debilitating perfectionism is the only way that I can eventually make the work perfect.
So I will write again with beautiful freedom, and continue on to the goal of 50K words, and only then will I edit and fix. No novel starts out perfectly.

For those interested in participating, visit the Nanowrimo website – I promise it will be worth your while!
Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

